The Five Pillars Of Islam

Islam is a universal religion that covers all the aspects of the life for the humanity. It is the religion of true peace and equality. Islam means submission and obedience to will of God. The entire Islam is based upon five pillars. First is Shadat means confirmation of the absolute oneness of Allah. Second pillar is Salat that means the performance of the prayers in the proper manner. Third is Zaakat means purification in the form of wealth to the needy people. Fourth pillar is Salah that means the month of wholeheartedly fasting during Ramadan. Last pillar is Hajj that is the devotional stages of the Muslims relationship with God. The entire foundation of Islam depends upon these five pillars. Let’s have a brief overlook on some of the significant aspects of these structural pillars of Islam.

  1. 1.      Shaadat:-

                 This pillar of Islam makes us realize from the reality that Allah is one and Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) is the last messenger and prophet of God. The strong belief in God has been further clearly explored in the plentiful verses of Holy Quran.

  1. 2.      Salah:-

            Muslims offer the prayers five times a day in different timings.  During the prayer Muslims tie them up into a unique and stronger relation with their God. This teaches the Muslim to know the real meaning of Islam in the form of prayers. As the Muslim bow down on his knees he asks for forgiveness for his evil deeds and in return God blessed him with the merciful blessings.

  1. 3.      Zakat:-

             Zakat means growth or purification. In this aspect every Muslim is required to pay 2.5 percent of their wealth section among the needy, beggars, poor and those people who deserve to give the money. This duty of Muslims has even stated in the Quran for the rich people.

  1. 4.      Fasting:-

                           Ramadan is one of the blessed months in Islamic history that allows the Muslims to fast the whole day from the dawn till the sunset. During this month God opens the doors of heaven and Muslims get the chance to get even more closely and near to the God.

  1. 5.      Hajj:-

          Hajj provides a unique opportunity to the Muslims to get themselves communicate with god in simple structure of pilgrims. The appearance of Kaaba represents mans submissiveness to God.

These five pillars of Islam bring out the extreme spirit of Islam in concrete manner. Muslim can get into the good books of God through by fulfilling these five responsibilities.

About the author

Leave a Comment